WordPress: Categories vs Tags

I’m fairly new to WordPress and as I made my first posting to this blog it occured to me that I have no clue what the difference is between Categories and Tags. So … a quick trip to Google turned up the post “Categories versus Tags – What’s the Difference and Which One?” on the blog Lorelle on WordPress … an excellent read!

One Response to WordPress: Categories vs Tags

  1. Glad to help. Welcome to WordPress and blogging in general. A lot of people get confused over categories and tags, but when I tell them that a blog is like a book, categories are your table of contents and tags are the index words, it suddenly makes sense. Odd that this is so confusing to too many.

    Just always watch out for the uncategorized category. I usually change my default category quickly and remove uncategorized because there is nothing worse than having uncategorized be your most popular category. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

